Page 1 of 1

[1.4.5] Bugs Involving the background2

Posted: 28 Jun 2020, 6:05
by Victor ManuelMR
1 - Background2-22 does not have animation:
Exemple :
Bug1.gif

I'm using a newly created level.
2 - Background2-18, Background2-29, Background2-30, Background2-42, Background2-55, Background2-58 does not appear when the level is tested.

Posted: 12 Aug 2020, 0:16
by Numaki
But TBF, background2-8 (SMB1 Underground) doesn't have an animation in SMBX 1.3 either.

Posted: 12 Aug 2020, 5:16
by Victor ManuelMR
Numaki wrote:But TBF, background2-8 (SMB1 Underground) doesn't have an animation in SMBX 1.3 either.

Ok Really, but what about the others?

Posted: 12 Aug 2020, 18:43
by Numaki
Victor ManuelMR wrote:
Numaki wrote:But TBF, background2-8 (SMB1 Underground) doesn't have an animation in SMBX 1.3 either.

Ok Really, but what about the others?
At least for me, they're working as intended (even the SMW Castle oversight seems to be fixed). Weird… Do the backgrounds work for other/ older levels? Did you check if all BGs are in the background2 Folder (Normally, there should be 58 files inside the background2 Folder)?

Posted: 13 Aug 2020, 3:18
by Victor ManuelMR
Numaki wrote:
Victor ManuelMR wrote:
Numaki wrote:But TBF, background2-8 (SMB1 Underground) doesn't have an animation in SMBX 1.3 either.

Ok Really, but what about the others?
At least for me, they're working as intended (even the SMW Castle oversight seems to be fixed). Weird… Do the backgrounds work for other/ older levels? Did you check if all BGs are in the background2 Folder (Normally, there should be 58 files inside the background2 Folder)?

But I have all the graphics...
Full.gif

Posted: 14 Aug 2020, 14:37
by Numaki
Victor ManuelMR wrote:
Numaki wrote:
Victor ManuelMR wrote:
Numaki wrote:But TBF, background2-8 (SMB1 Underground) doesn't have an animation in SMBX 1.3 either.

Ok Really, but what about the others?
At least for me, they're working as intended (even the SMW Castle oversight seems to be fixed). Weird… Do the backgrounds work for other/ older levels? Did you check if all BGs are in the background2 Folder (Normally, there should be 58 files inside the background2 Folder)?

But I have all the graphics...
Full.gif
Maybe something went wrong when you've unpacked the files? That doesn't happen very often, but it's possible. Try the following methods:

For the first test, you only replace the SMBX EXE file with a newly downloaded one and test the level where the BG doesn't work. If it's still not working, try to first download the Full Package and replace the files in the SMBX folder with the newly downloaded one, then download the patch file again and replace the SMBX EXE file once again.

Posted: 17 Aug 2020, 4:54
by Lx Xzit
Victor can you open the level editor, go to Debugger and tell me the values shown in "Max Texture"?

Posted: 17 Aug 2020, 7:23
by Victor ManuelMR
Lx Xzit wrote:Victor can you open the level editor, go to Debugger and tell me the values shown in "Max Texture"?
I'm using Background2-18

Screenshot_1.png

Posted: 17 Aug 2020, 7:45
by Lx Xzit
Just what I thought. The maximum texture size the game can render depends on your hardware, yours support 2048*2048 so that's why you can't see the animated backgrounds while others can. The only reasonable fix I see 38A could apply is increasing the minimum limit to 4096*4096, but I'm not sure what side effects it could cause. I assume that limit is for a reason.

Posted: 17 Aug 2020, 8:04
by Victor ManuelMR
Spoiler
Lx Xzit wrote:Just what I thought. The maximum texture size the game can render depends on your hardware, yours support 2048*2048 so that's why you can't see the animated backgrounds while others can. The only reasonable fix I see 38A could apply is increasing the minimum limit to 4096*4096, but I'm not sure what side effects it could cause. I assume that limit is for a reason.

But it didn't happen before...
So I will have to live with it.

This does not happen in 1.4.4. In 1.4.5...

Posted: 10 Nov 2020, 5:57
by Victor ManuelMR
Lx Xzit wrote:Just what I thought. The maximum texture size the game can render depends on your hardware, yours support 2048*2048 so that's why you can't see the animated backgrounds while others can. The only reasonable fix I see 38A could apply is increasing the minimum limit to 4096*4096, but I'm not sure what side effects it could cause. I assume that limit is for a reason.

I just tested 1.4.4, and this problem didn't happen...
Screenshot_6.png

Screenshot_7.png